Watch the 2018 Indspire Awards Online

August 15, 2018

This past March, the Indspire Awards, an event honouring Indigenous success and achievement, celebrated its 25th anniversary in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Celebrating exceptional First Nations, Inuit, and Métis individuals, this year’s Indspire Awards highlighted the significant contributions of Indigenous people in Canada. Click here to watch the 2018 Indspire Awards.


This year’s show was co-hosted by award-winning comedian and screenwriter Darrell Dennis (Moccasin Flats) and actor Kyle Nobess (Mohawk Girls).

The 2018 Indspire Awards also features special performances by Indigenous talent from across Canada. This year’s list includes:

Indian City led by Vince Fontaine (2018 Juno-nominated)
Sanikiluaq singer and songwriter Kelly Fraser (2018 Juno-nominated)
Dancer and choreographer Santee Smith
Singer, composer, and producer Jennifer Kreisberg (Genie Award winner for Best Achievement in Music)
Classically trained Canadian cellist Cris Derksen, with members of the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra.
Dance troupe Asham Stompers, with 13-year-old twin fiddler brothers Double the Trouble and Gustin Adjun.
The Youth Award presenters will be award-winning Canadian film and TV actress TantooCardinal, Rosanna Deerchild, host of Unreserved on CBC Radio, and community leader, Arctic Sports coach, and Inuit High Jumper, Johnny Issaluk.

The live voice over artist for the show is broadcaster, voice artist, actor, and Winnipeg local Holly Bernier.

The 2018 Indspire Awards recipients are:

Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Gloria Cranmer Webster, ‘Namgis First Nation, BC
Arts: Greg Hill, Kanyen’kehaka at Six Nations of the Grand River Territory, ON
Business & Commerce: Nicole Bourque-Bouchier, Mikisew Cree First Nation, AB
Culture, Heritage & Spirituality: Kye7e Cecilia Dick DeRose, Secwepemc Nation, BC
Culture, Heritage & Spirituality: Theland Kicknosway, Walpole Island Bkejwanong Territory, ON
Education: Dr. Lorna Wanosts’a7 Williams, Lil’wat Nation, BC
Health: Dr. Evelyn Voyageur, Musgamagw Dzawada’enuxw, BC
Law & Justice: Paul Chartrand, Métis, St. Laurent, MB
Public Service: Dr. Mike DeGagné, Animakee Wa Zhing, ON
Sports: Michael Linklater, Thunderchild First Nation, SK
Youth – First Nation: Ashley Callingbull, Enoch Cree Nation, AB
Youth – Inuit: Donna May Kimmaliardjuk, Nunavut, Inuit Nunangat
Youth – Métis: Tracie Léost, Métis, St. Laurent, MB