CEO & The Media



Roberta Jamieson is known as one of Canada’s important visionaries and leaders. She is a Mohawk woman from Six Nations of the Grand River Territory in Ontario. Roberta is the President and CEO of Indspire, Canada’s premiere Indigenous-led charity, and Executive Producer of the Indspire Awards, a nationally broadcast gala honouring Indigenous achievement.

In addition to being named an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2016, Ms. Jamieson has been presented with many distinguished awards, as well as having received 25 honorary degrees. The awards include the National Aboriginal Achievement Award (Law and Justice), the Goodman Fellowship of the University of Toronto Faculty of Law; the International Association for Conflict Resolution’s Mary Parker Follet Award in 1992; the Indigenous Peoples Council Award of the Indigenous Bar Association; the Harmony Award which recognized her contribution towards eliminating racial and social barriers in Canada, and the first Deo Kernahan Memorial Award presented by the Urban Alliance on Race Relations in Toronto and the Council of Ontario Universities’ 2014 David C. Smith Award.

Roberta is a sought-after Keynote at conferences across the country and her presentations are powerful, insightful, educational and thought provoking. An eloquent speaker, Roberta has shared the podium and been invited to panel discussion with numerous Indigenous leaders, government ministers and business heads.


Speaking Engagement Request

To request Roberta for your upcoming event, please contact us at





Roberta L. Jamieson, O.C., I.P.C., LL.B., LL.D. (Hon)

President & CEO, Indspire
Executive Producer, Indspire Awards

Roberta Jamieson is a Mohawk woman who has enjoyed a distinguished career of firsts. She was the first First Nation woman in Canada to earn a law degree; the first non-parliamentarian appointed an ex-officio member of a House of Commons Committee; the first woman Ombudsman of Ontario; and the first woman elected Chief of the Six Nations of the Grand River Territory, where she continues to reside with her family. An accomplished expert in alternative dispute resolution, Roberta also served as Commissioner of the Indian Commission of Ontario.

Under Roberta’s leadership, Indspire has flourished. Raising funds from government, corporate and private sectors, Indspire’s annual disbursements of bursaries and scholarships to support Indigenous students in post-secondary education have increased sevenfold. An innovative K-12 Indspire Institute was launched providing support to educators and communities working to improve educational outcomes with culturally grounded curriculum and techniques. Roberta is also the Executive Producer of the annual Indspire Awards.

Roberta, a long time advocate for greater diversity on corporate boards, is a member of Gender Equality Advisory Council for Canada’s G7 Presidency and former member of Hydro One’s Board of Directors.

She has earned numerous awards, including, most recently, YWCA’s President’s Award and Women’s Executive Network’s “Canada’s Most Powerful Women” Hall of Fame, as well as 25 honorary degrees. In 2015, Ms. Jamieson was recognized by the Public Policy Forum for the outstanding contributions she has made to the quality of public policy and good governance.

She is an Officer of the Order of Canada.


Download Biography


Degrees + Programs

University of Western Ontario Faculty of Law, LL.B. degree (1976)
Harvard University, Negotiation for Senior Executives

Honorary Doctor of Laws degrees (25 to date)


1. Carleton University
2. Dalhousie University
3. McMaster University
4. Lakehead University
5. University of Western Ontario
6. University of Windsor
7. University of Sudbury
8. Ryerson University
9. Law Society of Upper Canada (2003)

10. York University
11. University of Toronto (2004)
12. University of Waterloo (2005)
13. Trent University (2006)
14. Nipissing University
15. Wilfrid Laurier University*
16. University of Guelph
17. Brock University (2008)
18. Mount Saint Vincent University (2010)
19. McGill University (2011)

20. Memorial University of Newfoundland (2012)
21. MacEwan University (2012)
22. Vancouver Island University (2012)
23. Fanshaw College (2014)
24. Huron University college (2015)
25. Mount Allison University (2016)

*Note for future reference: one degree was from Waterloo Luthern University. It changed its name and is now known as Wilfrid Laurier University.





Roberta Jamieson, Keynote Speaker at Converge 2017

Hosted by Universities Canada at Shaw Convention Centre, Ottawa
Keynote address at Converge 2017 on the path to Canada’s future – education and reconciliation

Converge 2017 Photo Gallery


Watch Converge Keynote Videos





“Roberta Jamieson was absolutely wonderful. She gave what can only be described as a powerful address, receiving a sustained round of applause at the conclusion. Her comments resonated with our delegates and her challenges to the organization were precisely the themes that originated from the conference and that we need to pursue during the next year. It was a total success.” – Administrative and Professional Crown Employees of Ontario (AMAPCEO)