Guiding the Journey Indigenous Educator Awards 
Discover more about 2017 Guiding the Journey Indigenous Educator Awards by clicking on the logo below.  Find important information, FAQ’s, Award Recipients and learn How to Nominate an Educator/Organization.

Congratulations! to our 2017 Guiding the Journey: Indigenous Educator Awards Recipients 

Guiding the Journey honourees are acknowledged for having innovative and impactful teaching practices, advocating for resources and culturally-based curricula, and helping Indigenous students reach their full potential.

Community Service:  Pauline Favel, First Nations, North Battleford, SK
Innovative Practice: Judy Whitford, Métis, Yellowknife, NT
Culture, Language and Traditions: Danita Lewis, First Nations, Comox, BC
Culture, Language and Traditions: Siaja Mark-Manqiuk, Inuk, Ivujivik, QC
Culture, Language and Traditions: Donald Speidel, First Nations, Whitecap Dakota First Nation, SK
Leadership: Lorne Belmore, First Nations, Winnipeg, MB
Role Model: Billie-Jo Grant, Métis, St. Albert, AB
Role Model: Pamela Sparklingeyes, First Nations, Edmonton, AB
Partner in Indigenous Education: Darlene Nuqingaq, Non-Indigenous, Iqaluit, NU
Indigenous Organization Award: Northern Nishnawbe Education Council, Thunder Bay, ON